• Get Involved

    Strengthen a movement and make an impact. Volunteer today.

  • Calendar

    November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

November Volunteer of the Month: Margi Wysong

Angela and I

Margi hamming up for the camera with 10TV’s Angela An during Race registration at Easton Town Center last year.

Margi Wysong loves walking into a room knowing that she is going to “pay forward” the knowledge and kindness she received when she was first diagnosed and undergoing treatment.

“She’s been a Komen Ambassador for several years attending various health fairs and other educational events,” said Natalie Guagenti, volunteer manager. “We could not make an impact in our community, sharing our mission, without such valuable volunteers such as Margi. That’s why we are thrilled to honor her as our November Volunteer of the Month.”

Learn more about Margi.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
I am a survivor.  I  benefited from the support and research of those that went ahead of me.  I wanted to give back, to “pay back”.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
Answering the questions of women at health fairs, etc., who really need more information.

Team 2013

Margi and her friends at the 2013 Race for the Cure.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
One year at The Race, I saw a young father with a toddler in a stroller and a little daughter, maybe 4 years old.  When the daughter turned around, she wore an “in Memory Of” card on her back.  All it said was “My Mommy.” It absolutely tore my heart out! We MUST keep on fighting.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
Work on rehabbing my old Victorian home (with my husband), walking my Siberian Husky, reading, and I volunteer for two other agencies while still working full time.

One Response

  1. Kudos Margi! So happy for you to be recognized! Mary B

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

