Inspired by Volunteers

So I’ve been posting on this blog for a few months now, and it’s about time I introduced myself. Hi there. My name is Becca Thomas and I’m the Communications Manager for Komen Columbus. That means I handle all the internal and external communication for our affiliate, including our monthly eNewsletter, Web site, Facebook and Twitter pages, and this blog. I’ve been fortunate enough to work with Komen Columbus for the past year-and-a-half, a time during which I’ve been inspired, challenged, enthused and more than anything, in love with coming to work every day.

That's me on the far right, with members of our staff at the 2009 Race.

While I may post on the blog now, I didn’t start it. Our communications intern Dannyle did, and we’re grateful for her hard work and dedication to our cause. It’s because of the hard work of so many of our volunteers that our organization exists today. As part of the world’s largest grassroots network of breast cancer volunteers and activists, we’re here because our network of volunteers is so strong.

I saw this in action just last night at the Columbus Young Professionals Volunteer Fair. Not only was I inspired by all the fresh faces who wanted to get involved for the first time, but with two members of our Komen Young Professionals committee who have single-handedly taken on the task of growing our evolving young group. Their motivation to get new people coming to our monthly meetings and long list ideas to engage existing members is inspiring. It’s from encounters like this with such positive, energetic volunteers that keeps us, as a staff, going. Volunteers inspire and invigorate us.

Nicolette and Michelle, Co-Chairs of Membership for KYP

We interact with volunteers daily, but our annual Race for Cure held in May every year offers the largest opportunity to work with volunteers. It’s at this time, when our small staff is scrambling every day to get things done, that we rely most heavily on our volunteers to take the lead. The way some volunteers get engaged, especially at this busy time, continues to amaze me. From two new volunteers who decided they were going to “PINK UP!” Columbus to a group of volunteers that took on managing all the logistics of holding a Race for 50,000 people, our volunteers are a breath of fresh air that we could not do without.

So thank you to all our existing and potential volunteers. I’m proud to work alongside you and call you my friends.

– Becca

