Marathoners Run and Raise Money for the Cure

As the members of the Inaugural Marathon for the Cure team prepare to run or walk 13.1 or 26.2 miles on October 17th, they’re also busy raising crucial funds to support local breast cancer education and treatment services in Central Ohio. 

Each member is required to raise at least $250 and for many, the decision to participate in this event and commit to raise the funds is an easy choice. 

Allison at the 2010 Race for the Cure

 

“Komen Columbus is a foundation that has been near and dear to my heart ever since I completed my first Race for the Cure event as a fifth grader,” said Allison, a half-marathon team member.  “I will be dedicating this race to so many strong women in my life that have battled and won their fight against breast cancer, as well as those who lost their fight but still remain close in my heart.” 

So far, Allison has already raised $215 toward her goal of $250. Allison sent a message to her close friends and family asking for their support and included the following: 

”I hope that you will join me in my fundraising efforts so that one day we can live in a world where our mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters, daughters and nieces no longer have to worry about breast cancer because we will have a cure!” 

Allison also suggested the following tips to follow when fundraising:

–          Use all the wonderful media we have to get the word out! From e-mail to Facebook, the more people that see the message the better! I post on my Facebook weekly about training to serve as a reminder to my friends of what I am up to. 

–          Personalize your e-mails and website.  If you use the template be sure to add some personal information on your motivation to participate with the Marathon for the Cure team.  Share with people why this cause is so important to you! 

–          If your work place will allow it, place a donation box in the lounge or work area where there is high traffic during the day.  Some people would rather throw in a few dollars than get online and donate. 

I wish you all the best in your fundraising efforts for this amazing cause! Thank you for all that you are doing, and I’ll see you at the starting line on October 17th!

