Greetings from the new Communications Intern

Hello Komen Columbus followers! I am proud and excited to announce that I am the new Communications and Social Media Intern for Komen Columbus, so I will be keeping the blog updated for the next couple of months. Just so you all know a little bit about me, my name is Lexi Sweet and I am a junior studying public relations and Spanish at Ohio University. I have had a few other internships, but none quite like this, and I can’t wait to get started.

Lexi Sweet

Not only do I look forward to the experiences I will have at Komen, but also I am enthused at the idea of working for a cause that is close to my heart. My grandmother died of breast cancer just before I was born, so I unfortunately never got to meet her. From the stories my family tells, she was a wonderful, kind-hearted woman and I am sad that I never got to have a relationship with her. Through the work that Komen does, hopefully more people will be able to know family members that they might have otherwise lost to breast cancer.

I also know that my grandmother having breast cancer puts me at a higher risk, which is a very scary thought. Through Komen, I have been made aware of many facts about breast cancer, including risk factors, early detection and screening, that are important for young women to know, although many do not. I can only hope that through the work done by Komen, if I one day do end up being diagnosed with breast cancer, that we will be infinitely closer to finding a cure- or maybe there will actually be one!

One of my previous internships was with Hamilton Local Schools, and for those of you who are not aware, the students won the Komen Columbus School Team Challenge for the past four years by bringing the most team members to the Race for the Cure. They’ve also helped raise thousands of dollars, as fundraising is not a last minute ditch effort for these students, but an activity that takes place throughout the year, with events such as Volley for a Cure and other fundraisers. Then practically the whole school attends on race day, either as a volunteer or a participant.

As an intern, I was lucky enough to participate in one of the fundraising events at the high school. Sunny 95 – Rewind 103.5/104.3 hosted a School Spirit “Snapshot Challenge” in which schools in central Ohio submitted pictures that embodied their best school spirit, then after a period of voting, the winner received $5,000 to be used at their discretion. Unlike the other schools, Hamilton submitted a photo of an event where everyone was in pink in support of breast cancer research. Not only did they win more than 50 percent of the votes, but also they are using the money in their donation for the 2011 Komen Columbus for Race for the Cure. I was touched at the selflessness of these students and their enthusiasm towards finding a cure for breast cancer. It was truly phenomenal and the work they do inspired me to get involved further.

As you can all see, I have a vested interest in this cause and am delighted to begin working with Komen. I hope you all enjoy my posts over the next couple months, and that you find them both enjoyable and informational.

3 thoughts on “Greetings from the new Communications Intern

  1. Koman is fortunate to have Lexi as an intern. We was a great asset to Hamilton Local. I appreciate the mention of our student and community commitment to Koman. It is truly inspiring.

Comments are closed.