Breast Cancer Survivor Training for Second Half-Marathon

Regardless how busy the summer gets, one thing Janice Joos is sure to make time for is her running. She currently runs several times a week and is planning on starting an official training program in July in order to run the half-marathon with the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team during the Columbus Marathon on October 16.

Janice, in the pink shirt and gloves, runs during the 2010 Columbus Marathon.

“I honestly did not start to run until 2006, one year after my breast cancer diagnosis,” Janice said. “I had some complications with my reconstruction and was not allowed to compete in the Race for the Cure. As I watched the runners cross the finish line, I was surprised that no survivors were in that first batch of runners finishing. I thought I could do that. So I have run that event and other 5k’s since that day.”

Janice never felt the desire to run long distances until last year. She challenged herself to run six miles and was surprised to find she could do it. Once she heard about the Marathon for the Cure team, she took it as a sign that she should join.

“Since 2008 I have been a member of the running group Speedy Sneakers and my coach from that formed a training plan for me. This year again I will start training in July for the half.”

This will be Janice’s second year as part of the Marathon for the Cure team and part of what drove her join the team again was the fact that she loves meeting new runners who “challenge themselves and commit themselves to the cause.”

“I also want more survivors to join the team. Survivors are the strongest people you will meet. I have been through various surgeries, ingested drugs that caused my hair to fall out and sat through weeks of radiation; running 13.1 miles is a lot easier,” Janice said.

She mentioned she has a good friend who was diagnosed this year and is also planning to join the team.

Currently the team is at 38 members and already bigger than it was last year. Members are encouraged to fundraise to support breast cancer research and local programs, but there is no minimum amount required to raise. Participants may run or walk the full or half marathon.

“I would encourage people to join the team to raise awareness of how breast cancer has effected them, to show that survivors are strong, capable people and to raise money.”

To join the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team, or to donate to Janice’s efforts, visit their team page online.

