State Rep. Grossman Receives Komen Award

The Columbus Affiliate of the Susan G. Komen for a Cure, along with Ohio’s other three Komen affiliates, regularly engage state lawmakers on matters and issues that impact the fight against breast cancer. Ranging from funding for early screening programs to new opportunities for treatment, Komen Columbus representatives have attended meetings with elected leaders and their staff as well as testified before legislative committees to fight breast cancer from a public policy front.

In 2007, Komen Columbus began an annual tradition of recognizing one of our local elected officials for their exceptional leadership in promoting breast cancer awareness, early detection, research and treatment through the Public Service Award. Before the runners and walkers took off at this year’s Race for the Cure, a local legislator was honored for her work toward increasing awareness of breast cancer in Central and Southeastern Ohio.

Rep. Grossman receives the Public Service Award.

State Representative Cheryl Grossman, currently serving her second term in the Ohio House of Representatives, was the recipient of 2011 Public Service Award. Grossman represents the 23rd House District, which includes Grove City, Hilliard, parts of Dublin and other western portions of Franklin County.

Representative Grossman and her staff have been very welcoming to meet with Komen volunteers and even attended a tour of Columbus Cancer Clinic, a community health grantee of Komen Columbus and one of the programs providing life-saving breast health services to under- and uninsured men and women in our community.

Rep. Grossman chats with Komen Columbus board president Connie Browning during the Columbus Cancer Clnic tour.

“We appreciate the leadership and sincere concern Representative Grossman gives breast cancer issues, particularly the importance of promoting early detection and screenings,” said Mark Rickel, Komen Columbus board member and Public Policy committee chair. “Cheryl has been a wonderful advocate and an outstanding champion in the fight against breast cancer.”

Previous recipients of the public service award include former Governor Ted Strickland, former state Senator Tom Niehaus, former State Representative Deborah Pryce and state Representative Joyce Beatty.

The public policy committee meets once a month via conference call to discuss ongoing issues and projects. Learn more here.