Cindy Mansfield Joins Komen Columbus

During the busy month of April, just as Race for the Cure preparations were kicking into high gear, our staff of six grew by one when we hired Cindy Mansfield as a finance coordinator. Cindy handles our bills and invoices, processes Race pledges and maintains our affiliate budget.

Nancy G. Brinker and Komen Columbus volunteers
Cindy Mansfield, far right, met founder Nancy G. Brinker with her husband, Stan and fellow volunteers from left to right M. Sue Joes and Georgeann Corey.

We were so lucky to find Cindy not only because of her strong financial background, but because of her passion for the cause. Cindy is a five-year breast cancer survivor and is dedicated to helping find a cure for this disease that has affected not only her, but so many other men and women she knows.

“I feel very blessed to be working for Komen Columbus because it allows me to be involved in a cause that I am so passionate about,” Cindy said. “Every day when I come to work I think that maybe this day will be the day we find a cure!”

In the months Cindy has been here, she has really enjoyed meeting so many survivors and hearing their stories. Since we’re a small staff, we also spend time talking with each other and getting to know one another through everyone’s celebrations and special events, another aspect Cindy enjoys.

“I have so much admiration and respect for the people I work with. I have never seen a group that works so hard and are so committed to making this world a better place,” Cindy said. “They give me hope and I am a better person just for knowing them.”

Cindy first became involved with Komen Columbus as a volunteer seven years ago. She had an inspiring beginning with our organization, so I’ll just let her tell it.

Komen Columbus Race for the Cure
Cindy and her family at the 2011 Race for the Cure.

“My wonderful husband Stan volunteered to run the expo at the end of the race. I’ll never forget that first year, it rained really hard and it was really cold. We had been up since 4:30 am working in the expo. By about 10 am I was soaked and freezing and I just wanted to go home. Then a little girl walked by who was about 9 or 10. On the back of her shirt it said, ‘In memory of my mom Kathy.’ I knew then that a little rain and cold wasn’t a big deal and I’ll never forget that little girl.

“Two years later I was diagnosed with breast cancer a month before the race. A few weeks later I had a mastectomy so I couldn’t help with the expo, but I was determined to walk the one-mile family fun walk with my three daughters. We did it and Stan was waiting for me at the finish line. It was so emotional and inspirational to be there that year and see all the survivors. Now my entire family volunteers at the race and it’s an amazing and inspiring day for us all.”

Cindy has been a fabulous addition to our staff and we are so happy to see her every day. Next time you’re in the office, stop by and say hi to Cindy.

