Marathon Team Member Preps for Race, Runs for Others

Guest post by: Krista Kae
Komen Columbus Volunteer and Marathon for the Cure Team Member

Krista Kae

With less than two months before I hit the streets of Columbus to complete my second half-marathon, I have been mentally and physically training myself for the big day. I knew I wanted to run for a cause and when I heard about Marathon for the Cure team, I couldn’t have been more proud to join. Since joining the team, I have met some amazing and talented people that we all share in educating those about breast cancer and to help raise funds for breast cancer research.

Think it’s too late to join the team? Absolutely not! I would still highly encourage those to still participate. Run or walk the full or the half, we will take steps together to help end breast cancer. I believe it is never too late or too early to start moving!

Have I always been a runner? NO! In high school I never enjoyed it, but to be honest I never really put in the time until college. Running started to become my outlet of a place where I could gather my thoughts, listen to my body, and to relieve stress from schoolwork, etc. It soon became my daily prescription.

Krista running in a previous race.

Being part of Marathon for the Cure,  I feel it expands the reach of Komen for the Cure beyond the Race for the Cure 5k series while still being able to raise much needed funds to support Komen’s vision of a world without breast cancer.  I am running for something more than myself. I am running for all my friends mothers, aunts, sisters that haven been affected by breast cancer.

I can remember becoming aware and learning about breast cancer when I was in elementary schools. One of my neighborhood friend’s mothers was diagnosed with it when she was just in her teens. Her teens! When I graduated from high school, her gift to me was a breast cancer pin and a pamphlet on breast self-examination.  I felt that gift showed that she cared about my health and most importantly helped educate me on the steps I can take in order to take care of myself. That gift changed my life in more ways than one. I truly believe knowledge is power and that is one of my missions to help educate and Marathon for the Cure is helping me achieve that goal.

“You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

Join Krista today on the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team and walk or run in the Columbus Marathon on Sunday, October 16.

