Golf for the Cure Team Back for Second Year

Today’s post is about our second annual Golf for the Cure, held on September 23, and is written by Kelly Clark, Director, Client Management for PlayNetwork.

Golf for The Cure is a new, growing, more laid-back event that is played at the perfect time of the year. It’s an opportunity to get together with my friends, none of whom I see enough because of work, marriage, kids, other priorities. We get to spend an afternoon together in “Heaven on Earth,” a golf course. Catching up, having a few beers, all in the name of supporting breast cancer awareness and the Komen Foundation. Obviously cancer in general and breast cancer specifically, affects us all. My step mother is a survivor, so this a very personal fight for me.

Kelly Clark, second from left, with his 2010 Golf for the Cure team.

My team is comprised of friends of mine who I’ve met over the years and we all try to get together for golf as often as possible, but never often enough. One guy, Brett Stahl, I’ve known for 20 years (Rocky’s on Bethel, if you are old enough). Salt-of-the-earth kind of guy who married his high school sweetheart and has two beautiful children. Another buddy of mine, Rob Hageman, I met in a golf league that I played in on Monday nights for many years. I’ve gotten him involved with a couple of basketball runs that I play in as well. Our third, Jon Quinn, is a guy I used to work for and love to death. He’s a good guy with a wife and three children and lives in Arlington. He cracks me up and I love getting him going on various tangents while we are playing. A truly good group of guys and we really enjoy each other’s company.

I look forward to this event because of the camaraderie, not only with my foursome but being part of a group of people from all walks of life who take time out of their very busy and important lives to play a game that they love (or hate) for a cause that humbles us all. There is a sense of a greater cause, a greater meaning, a greater experience for us all that you feel on Race Day and it carries over to this type of event. Cancer is VERY personal and it is VERY emotional and it is VERY cruel. It’s good to be part of a group that is trying to kick greast cancer in the teeth. I’ll make time for that as often as possible.

If you’re interested in joining Kelly and his team on the golf course on September 23, register today.

