October Volunteer of the Month is Dedicated to the Cause

The passion that October’s volunteer of the month displays when volunteering is obvious whether he’s helping out with Race registration, attending a health fair or volunteering as part of the Komen Young Professionals committee. We’re proud to honor Josh Haughn this month, and wanted to let his commitment for finding a cure for breast cancer speak for itself in the article below.

“To be selected as volunteer of the month is a big honor when you think about the thousands of people that volunteer for Komen Columbus,” Josh said. “Also being breast cancer awareness month, it’s truly special to me as well since with every Komen event I attend, I try to talk about breast health awareness to every person.”

Josh first began volunteering with Komen Columbus after his first Race for the Cure in 2009.

“I was so moved by what I saw when I crossed the finish line, seeing all the survivors and all the emotions they showed made me want to do something to help. The following year I volunteered with race registration at the mall, but this year as I was finishing up with race registration, I knew again that there was more I needed to do so I started volunteering year around and feel so great after each event I do.”

Through volunteering, Josh has enjoyed meeting lots of people and learning the meaning of strength.

“If you wonder what true strength really is, just talk to a survivor because I truly don’t feel there is anyone stronger,” Josh said. “I have talked to survivors at very low points in their fight yet they are still fighting; their spirits are intact and they know they are going to win their fight. That what I see as true strength and it’s the reason I give everything I have to every event I do. From the office staff to the other volunteers I have worked with, everyone has been awesome and haven’t had a single person I haven’t enjoyed working with.”

It was hard for Josh to pick one activity as his favorite when volunteering, but overall he loves attending health fairs as part of the education/outreach committee.

“I love talking to people and sharing the mission of Komen with the community. There are too many I have talked to at health fairs that believe they don’t have to worry about their breast health until they are older. That worries me as Ohio is fourth in mortality [for breast cancer].”

When not volunteering for Komen Columbus, Josh can be found attending home Columbus Crew games or watching them on TV.

“I am a passionate Crew fan and just renewed my season tickets for next year, so let’s go crew! I do spend a lot of time doing stuff for and at my church. I also just love hanging out with my amazing friends, that ground me and support me like no one else. I also love spending time with my family as they are very important to me.”

Josh is also trying for some longer distance races next year, and we wish him all the best. We’re lucky to have him as a volunteer and often marvel at his dedication and willingness to jump in and help wherever needed. Congratulations, Josh!

