Marathon for the Cure Team Has Great Year

For the second year in a row, bright pink could be seen throughout Columbus as the second Marathon for the Cure team took part in the full and half-marathon as part of the Columbus Marathon on October 16.

Team Captain Tricia Stafford, left, stands with two members of this year's Marathon for the Cure Team.

This year 66 people registered for the Marathon as part of the Marathon for the Cure team, with 39 participating in the half-marathon and 27 going for the full 26.2 mile event. Thirty-nine people fundraised, a wonderful number considering there was no minimum amount required to raise this year.

Already nearly $18,000 has been raised and team members will have until November 15 to continue fundraising. (You can help the team out here.)

Two of the team members were breast cancer survivors and the member to fundraise the most has already raised $4,040.

One of this year’s team members was Mindy Hayward, who heard about the team at the 2011 Race for the Cure and decided to join the team in late August.

Mindy reached out to her social networks and through her blog to fundraise and has raised $820 because she wanted to do some good with all her training.

“I’ve had many friends and family members who have battled breast cancer – many have valiantly beat it; others gave amazing, courageous fights for many years. All of these women and their battles have touched me in ways they’ll never know – my run was for them: Grandma, LP, Stef, Suzie and others,” Mindy said.

Mindy credits her husband for training with her and keeping her going during the Race.

“I had hoped to raise $1,000, but I came pretty close, and I’m thankful for that. Every little bit helps, and I’m so grateful to all of my supporters for believing in me. Chris and I have already decided to start training for 2012 – hopefully we’ll be able to do the full marathon. I plan to be a part of the Marathon for the Cure team again, and hopefully I will reach that $1,000 goal – and maybe more!

Congrats to all our Marathon for the Cure team participants! Whether you walked, ran or fundraised, we’re proud of you!

 

One thought on “Marathon for the Cure Team Has Great Year

Comments are closed.