Marathon for the Cure Team Member Running to Honor “Sly”

Bitten by the running bug over the last couple of years, Justin Perry is putting his new-found hobby to use for a good cause by joining the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team. Read what gets Justin through race after race, in his own words.

The Perry family celebrates after Justin’s first Marathon in 2011

“Anyone that has been following my posts over the last couple of years has seen that I’ve lost some very dear loved ones and been bitten by the ‘running bug.’ We’ve all been affected in some way by cancer and this year I want to put my running to good use by fundraising for Komen Columbus.

The first of my losses was my mother-in-law, Sharon ‘Sly’ Lyons, to breast cancer in July of 2010. She was going through chemo when Darcy [my wife] and I started dating, won that initial battle and was in remission for many years before it eventually came back. She fought so hard and always with such hope and courage that a cure would be found before she ran out of time. It was one of the hardest things I’ve been through, not only losing someone that I loved, but watching Darcy lose her mom and best friend. One thing that I took with me was the fight that Sharon had in her and the fact that she never gave up right up until her last breath.

It was that fall that I got into running through a step challenge at work. Prior to that challenge, I had never run more than 5 miles at a time but by the end of the 4-week challenge, I had completed a 10-mile run and never looked back. Now today there isn’t a run that goes by that I don’t look up to the heavens and think of Sly. And when the going gets really tough, I always think about how she never quit and somehow that keeps my legs going.

So now, two marathons, a half marathon, a couple of adventure races, and multiple 5ks later, I’m fully dedicating this run to Sharon. She was so passionate about the cause and loved doing the Komen Columbus Race for the Cure every year as a family. Her dream was not only that a cure would be found for her, but that Darcy and her grandkids would be able to grow old in a world without breast cancer. Please help me by donating here.

Sharon “Sly” Lyons, Olivia and Darcy are all smiles at the 2009 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure

Our team is looking for members, so if you are running or walking the full or half, please click here for more information.”

Thanks for your support, Justin! We are proud to have you as a member of the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team!

