Marathon Runner Trains, Fundraises to Support Sister

Out of the thousands of runners and walkers who will take to the streets on Sunday, October 21, one of them, a member of the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team, will run all 13.1 miles for his sister. Dan Peters, preparing to run his second half-marathon, explains.

“This past Christmas my sister, Becky, had found a lump and scheduled a biopsy just days before the holiday. I had just flown in to town and accompanied her with the rest of my family for the test. Having no family history and Becky being so young, 33 at the time, we convinced ourselves it had to be benign. Unfortunately the news was not what we had expected and in an instant our world changed. Suddenly we weren’t in control anymore as a family and the fate of my oldest sister seemed to be held at the end of every next phone call and test result. Becky has an incredible strength that I’m in awe of and began educating herself, as well as us, while beginning her chemo treatment immediately. She elected to have a double mastectomy to have the best chances of eliminating the cancer. She has now begun daily radiation treatment and has finally regained the energy to begin working and exercising again. Her attitude never wavered, even in the hardest times when any one of us would have broken down.

Becky and Dan Peters

My sister is the first person I ever knew who was diagnosed with breast cancer. For as many people that have been affected I had somehow never known anyone personally. Unfortunately it was just months after Becky was diagnosed that I would have a second connection. My aunt Bev was diagnosed as well while being treated for an unrelated cancer. She too elected to have a double mastectomy and is currently recovering from her surgery. She will begin her second round of chemo this year once she’s recovered.

My family immediately rallied around my sister and in May walked/ran in the Twin Cities Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, raising over $4500. It was such an incredible experience and the support among survivors and families was overwhelming. Seeing other survivors come up and embrace my sister really showed just how much of a community has been built around this disease and the support that is out there when people need it most. After the success of that 5k and all the support my sister has received both personally, financially, and medically I knew I owed it back to the community to do what I could for all those who have been affected and those still to be diagnosed.

This will be my second half marathon and I hadn’t originally felt the need to run another. I realized I had a purpose and an opportunity greater than just the physical achievement in this second race, which is why I decided to run.

Training really started the last couple weeks for me, while I generally run I have started scheduling and tracking my runs to stay focused. This has been more challenging than training for my first as I am running this one alone. I use my sister and aunt as motivation to keep running when I get tired, or to even get started on a run when maybe I just don’t want to that day.

I’ve gotten an early start on my fundraising and am just shy of my first $1000! My goal is to raise $5000 with this race. People have been very generous and supportive of my family since Becky’s diagnosis just 8 months ago. I have reached out to coworkers as well as friends and family via Facebook, even making a video with highlights from my family’s Race for the Cure back in May.”

Good luck Dan!

It’s not too late to join Dan on the Marathon for the Cure team! Register by following these three steps:
1. Register for the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team for only $25 here.
2. Register here for the Columbus Marathon using the discount code: GR12-KOMEN. (The discount code will register you at the rate of $60 for the half marathon and $75 for the full marathon.)
3. Start training and get busy fundraising to really make an impact on your community.

There is no minimum amount required to fundraise as part of the team, but 75% of every dollar raised will support breast health education, screening and treatment services right here in Central and Southeastern Ohio. Wondering what types of programs you could support? Read about the community health programs providing vital breast health services right here in our community. Start fundraising and help support these important projects.

 

