One in eight . . .

Guest post by Mark Rickel
Komen Columbus Board of Directors, Pink Tie Guys Chair

In the world of sports, this is hardly a game changing statistic – in terms of a winning percentage or batting average, it would likely mean a career change for a coach or a player.

One in eight can however be a life changer when it comes to breast cancer.

One out of eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer during their lifetime. One in eight is the reason I got involved with the Susan G. Komen Columbus affiliate. As a husband, a father of three girls, an uncle to six more, a son, a colleague and friend, I fear those odds and I’ve unfortunately witnessed the odds ring true.

Getting involved in the fight against breast cancer, I met many individuals and families and all-too-many friends who are dealing with this terrible disease.

I learned of the courage and perseverance that enabled many to cope with the diagnosis, treatment and after care. I also have met many other husbands, sons, brothers and fathers that have been right behind those women. I’ve even met a few of the 1 in 1000 men who also have battled with their own breast cancer diagnosis.

Mark and his wife Betsey.

It was one in eight that inspired me to join Komen Columbus’ new initiative called the Pink Tie Guys.

This fall the Susan G. Komen Columbus will welcome the inaugural class of The Pink Tie Guys, a group of men who will use their voice and engage the community in a discussion about breast cancer. We all know this disease knows no boundaries and we believe that women shouldn’t be alone in the fight.

So Komen Columbus is currently seeking a few good men to join and share the message that one in eight is unacceptable – as is 1 in 1,000.

The Pink Tie Guys are about the men who have survived breast cancer and those husbands, fathers, sons and brothers who supported their loved one through every step of their own breast cancer battle.

Ultimately we hope to engage more men in the breast cancer movement, empowering them to be involved in women’s health issues and raising awareness that men can have breast cancer as well.

Members of the Pink Tie Guys will be presented the Komen pink ribbon neck tie and will be asked to wear it at community events or anywhere they can spark conversations about the important message of early detection: the best protection against deadly late stage breast cancer.

I ask you to join me and the other Pink Tie Guys today and help carry on the Komen promise to live in a world without breast cancer.

Join Mark and our other Pink Tie Guys today. More information is available online.

2 thoughts on “One in eight . . .

  1. Hi Mark!

    You are just the best! I met a couple that I have been helping as,much as I can as she battles Breast Cancer. Her husband is so great but I can see how frighten he is. I am good with the women because I had to take that walk ,but I know little about how to comfort the husbands. This came right on time . I am going to print this off and give it to him.
    Thanks again for all that you do!
    Sincerely
    Darlene Matthews

Comments are closed.