Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Katie Carter

What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?
It was the right time and right place that led me to Komen Columbus. I was hired in 2001 and have been fortunate to see this organization grow every year. I am so lucky to work with such incredible people and enjoy coming to work every day.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?
I am the Executive Director for Komen Columbus and my role is to work with our board of directors to ensure all the money raised- which is more than $20 million since 1993 – goes to programs and services that help under insured and uninsured women in Central and Southeastern Ohio.

What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?
Breast cancer has directly affected my family; my grandmother passed away 35  years ago and my aunt is a two-time breast cancer survivor. I am also inspired by all the men and women in our community that fight every day to be cancer free. We can never stop fighting to find cures for this disease- this motivates me, and the staff, to come to work every day.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
I received a call from a woman who had received a free mammogram from one of our funded programs and learned she had breast cancer.  She was so grateful for the program and  thanked us for saving her life. Every Race registration, corporate sponsorship and fundraising dollar does make an impact in our community. Our funds provided her with a free mammogram along with covering her  treatment.  To see our work make a difference  in her life was very rewarding and it reminds me of our goal and purpose everyday.

Katie getting ready for a live TV interview before the start of the 2012 Race for the Cure

When you’re not working, what do you like to do?
I like to spend time with my husband and son, play golf and enjoy time with family and friends.

What’s your favorite quote? Why does this quote “speak” to you?
“You can’t live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you.”  – John Wooden. We will never meet every man or woman who is directly helped with our funding, programs or services, but every year during the Race for the Cure I see all our survivors with their families and loved ones, and I know we are saving lives and making a difference in the lives of so many.

To meet other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

