November Volunteer of the Month: Nancy Thompson

When Natalie Guagenti thinks back on some recent volunteering events one name always comes up on the list- Nancy Thompson.

“Nancy serves with a smile on her face and is willing to help in any capacity,” said Natalie, Komen Columbus’ volunteer coordinator. Nancy has been a volunteer with Komen Columbus for several years and has given her time to attend numerous health fairs/expos and was last year’s Information Ambassador co-chair.

Natalie thought since Nancy volunteered so much with Komen Columbus she had a personal connection to breast cancer. When she asked Nancy, she replied, “no, I just believe in the cause.”

“To me that speaks volumes of her dedication and passion to Komen’s mission, that she is helping to share with so many people in our community,” Natalie said.

Thank you Nancy for you all you do!

Read below, in Nancy’s own words, what keeps her involved year after year.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
My cousin participated in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Race in Cleveland in 2007 and I was hooked. I’ve participated in the 3-Day event in 2008 and 2010. I walked in my first Komen Columbus Race for the Cure in 2010. I really believe in Komen’s mission to end breast cancer forever. I will participate for those who can’t walk until we find a cure.

Nancy Thompson (right) and Patti Auborn at the 2011 Susan G. Komen 3-Day Race in Cleveland, Ohio.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
All the awesome people at the office and everyone who is involved with this organization. During this  year’s Race for the Cure, Kim Jennings and I volunteered at he info booth and we had such a great time.  I left that day knowing that I would volunteer at the info booth again. I met so many people and their families and I loved seeing our community come together for this cause.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
I love walking in the Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. There is something powerful when you see a community come out in full force for this event. I enjoy seeing the costumes people wear and how they inspire others around them.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
When I first moved to Columbus 16 year ago, I needed aw ay to get out and meet people and volunteer with other organizations to stay busy. I am a very social person and I love learning about people and being part of something to make a difference in the lives of people. When I am not volunteering I love to shop at the North Market and take cooking classes and eat some Jeni’s Ice Cream. I like to stay active.

One thought on “November Volunteer of the Month: Nancy Thompson

  1. Congrats, Nancy!! Well earned. I’ve learned in our years together you are always there when needed.

    Expect we will see each other this week as we get involved in the 2013 Race.

Comments are closed.