Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Beth Waldren

What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?
My good friend Mary Mertz was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2006. Once Mary was finished with her treatment she wanted to get involved to find a cure for this disease, she asked me to volunteer with her. Mary got involved because she has two young daughters and she doesn’t want them to hear the same diagnosis one day. I have two daughters as well and I want to find a cure for this disease.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?
I am the Director of Development and I am in charge of overseeing all the fundraising activities for the affiliate. Dollars raised through all our fundraising go directly to fund our grant programs.

What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?
I like the fact that my work might lead to a cure one day.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
Probably when Susan G. Komen for the Cure ® Founder and CEO Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker came to Columbus to promote her book.  We held an event at Easton with survivors, supporters and corporate partners.  I walked Nancy around and introduced her to the various attendees at the event.  She is a rock star in the breast cancer community and it was great to watch her interact with our people.

Beth and her family with The Ohio State University President Gordon Gee at the 2008 Race for the Cure.
Beth and her family with The Ohio State University President Gordon Gee at the 2008 Race for the Cure.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do?
Going to the movies, shop, and spend time with my family.

What’s your favorite quote? Why does this quote “speak” to you?
I like the quote, “People hide behind the rules.”  I find it extremely rewarding to find ways around the system.

To meet other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

