December Volunteer of the Month: Stan Mansfield

Stan bids on a live auction item during the inaugural Pink Tie Ball in September.
Stan bids on a live auction item during the inaugural Pink Tie Ball in September.

Planning and putting together the second largest Race for the Cure in the country is no small feat, but the Komen Columbus staff can always count on Stan Mansfield. As Becca Thomas, Director of Events & Marketing wrote in her nomination of Stan, ” Stan is absolutely vital to the Race. He dedicates hours of his time to ensure the Race Expo is organized, efficient and safe for all participants.”

“Stan the Man,” as he is affectionately called by the Komen Columbus staff, works on his days off and even takes vacation days to make sure the Race Expo is ready for the thousands of people who will visit it on Race day.

Stan started volunteering in 2004 and two years later his wife, Cindy, was diagnosed with breast cancer and his passion for the cause really ignited. “His energy is contagious and his determination and dedication unmatched,” said Becca.

His hard work was rewarded when he received the 2010 Promise of One Award from Komen Headquarters in  Dallas for 10 years of volunteering.

Read below, in Stan’s own words, what keeps him involved year after year.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
My sister, Sue Jones, was on the Komen Columbus Board about 10 years ago and asked if I could help out with race. When I said yes, I really didn’t know much about breast cancer or the organization. My sister had a friend with breast cancer who I came to know through volunteering  and she was an inspiration to me. She was so dedicated to the cause and she was the first survivor that I really got to know. Also, at that time Komen’s office was on First Avenue in Grandview and I worked with Katie and her all volunteer staff. I was moved by her passion for the cause of ending breast cancer forever.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
The best part of being a volunteer is seeing the interaction between the staff, the volunteers , and the survivors.  The survivors have an amazing bond and it really is an incredible thing to witness.

Stan, along with his wife Cindy, and their family attend the 2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure
Stan, along with his wife, Cindy and their family attend the 2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
My most memorable moment was six years ago when my wife walked her first race as a survivor. That really brought home why I need to keep volunteering.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
When I’m not volunteering I like to spend time with my five grandchildren and go to their activities. I also like to work on projects around the house.

