Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Nicolle Racey

What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?
As a producer at 10TV, I had the pleasure of working with some of the Komen Columbus staff and board members to set up interviews for my newscast to air before and during the Race for the Cure. The Race became more personal when my friend and co-worker Heather Pick died after battling breast cancer so bravely. While Heather was taken from all of us way too soon, she left us a legacy to “bear hug” life and enjoy every moment. She also taught me to help those who need it the most.

I left the TV world after my youngest son was born and I later freelanced with Sarah Irvin Clark – who handles public relations for Komen Columbus. During my time with Sarah, I volunteered as manager of the start stage at the Race. I enjoyed seeing the camaraderie of the Komen staff and knew that one day I would like to part of this organization, where my work would have a lasting purpose. Fast forward a few years and here I am!  I started with Komen in March 2012.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?
I am the Director of Communications and Marketing and I manage external communications to sponsors, volunteers, survivors, grantees, donors and Race participants through our website, newsletter, and social media channels. Another important part of my work at Komen is building relationships and raising awareness with local media organizations.

What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?
I have been blessed to work with some amazing people in my life but the staff at Komen Columbus is one-of-a-kind. We each have talents and skills that we bring to the table to further Komen’s mission to help those uninsured  and underinsured men and women in Central and Southeast Ohio.

I have also met some unforgettable people in my journey with Komen Columbus. I’ve been fortunate to meet survivors, co-survivors, volunteers, grantees and sponsors, each of their stories has left an imprint on my heart and just further affirms that I am where God wants me to be. Lastly, I really hate cancer and I can’t wait till the day when I can write,”We FOUND a cure!”

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
To date, the most memorable moment was hearing Katie Carter, our Executive Director, offer me the job to join the Komen Columbus team. I literally dropped the phone and burst into tears of joy. It’s so humbling to be part of an organization where what you do can save lives. Each day, I learn from those who have struggled and fought to continue to live and beat cancer. This job gives my life perspective.

Nicolle going over last minute details with Komen Columbus Board President Connie Browning at the 2012 Race for the Cure start line.
Nicolle going over last minute details with Komen Columbus Board President Connie Browning at the 2012 Race for the Cure start line.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do?
I come from a very large and loud Cuban-Argentine family and we love to cook, talk and laugh out loud. I also enjoy date nights with my husband Mike and hanging out with my kiddos. When I have “me” time I love to read, kick-box and attempt crafty things on Pinterest.

What’s your favorite quote? Why does this quote “speak” to you?
“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

This quote, I believe, speaks to all of us at some point in life. We all face challenges, both great and small, that test and ultimately build our strength, character and faith.

To meet other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

One thought on “Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Nicolle Racey

Comments are closed.