March Volunteer of the Month: Padmini Ekbote

Padmini Ekbote is a fighter.Padmini_profile

Not only is she a fighter, but she is a mother, wife,  a dedicated volunteer at Komen Columbus and the March 2013 Volunteer of the Month. As a six-year survivor, Padmini has volunteered for several years involved with the Education Committee, attending numerous health fairs, chairing the I am the Cure committee and most recently representing our affiliate as a Komen Ambassador at the Washington D.C. race.

“Padmini has done all of this despite the challenges she faced last year after another breast cancer diagnosis. She didn’t hesitate to jump right back into leadership role after her recovery,” said Natalie Guagenti, volunteer coordinator at Komen Columbus. “Padmini is truly amazing and we are so lucky to have her as a volunteer.”

Congratulations to Padmini! Thank you for all you. Learn more about Padmini.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
Komen Race for the Cure is a big event in Columbus and I had heard about it. Cancer survivors who I met said it was a touching tribute and I should attend. After the first Komen Race that I attended, it was a very touching experience. I believe in giving back and to me volunteering at Komen was something I felt was right.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
Handing out the gifts to the survivors on race day and feeling a sense of camaraderie with them; “we are not alone and we can survive”.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
The first time I walked in the Survivor ceremony and saw the support of everyone who was present.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
I like to read, spend time with my sons and I also like to volunteer at various events.

