Team Spotlight: Bank of America

Bank of America volunteers helping to pack team t-shirts during the 2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.
Bank of America volunteers helping to pack team t-shirts during the 2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

We are fortunate to have hundreds of teams that participate in our annual Race for the Cure and we are especially thrilled to have the Bank of America team back with us for the 11th year! Not only do they rally a team together for the Race, they also help organize team packets and help pack survivor goodie bags. This group always comes in ready to work and they also take pride in knowing that their time and effort will make a lasting impact to our participants on Race day. Introducing Team Bank of America…

“Our Bank of America Practice Solutions team goal for this year’s Race for the Cure is 150 people. We are very committed to the cause and it is great to share the experience with so many others who are committed as well. One of our associates is a survivor, which makes us realize how very real this disease is and how it can affect those close to us. In addition to participating in the actual event, each year our associates help with t-shirt and survivor bag packing, which gives us a chance to see what our time and energy helped achieved. Participating in these events  makes us feel more involved in the fight for finding a cure.  The associates feel pride in being a part of such a focused team and we feel that with everyone’s help someday there will be a cure.

Our activities have not all been set as of yet but so far we are planning a bake sale.  Last year we were able to fund-raise over $200 cash in one afternoon to donate directly to the race and our goal has been set higher for this year.

DSC_2798For me the race has always been important because I lost my mother to breast cancer several years ago. The race is a time where my family gets together and we celebrate my mom’s life and make a difference for other women out there who are still going through the same fight she did. I know that together if we persevere and continue to raise awareness and funding that we will find a cure!
-Johnathan Northup, President BOA Community Volunteers Columbus
Vice President – Information Solutions

The Race for the Cure is special to me, as I have a close friend who is a survivor, another who is currently winning the battle and frankly this affect just about everyone I know in some way.  The team effort and atmosphere at the race makes my heart smile and I know we are one day, in the near future we are going to beat this disease.”
-Lindsey Lange, Officer | Practice Sales & Acquisitions
Bank of America Practice Solutions

A few more Bank of America associates chimed in on what gets them motivated to get involved every year:

For the past 8 years I have participated in Race For the Cure to honor my mother-in-law’s battle with breast cancer.  While she ultimately received a clean bill of health and told she “beat cancer”, it was only because of early detection.  I participate to support the research in finding a CURE and the important message about early detection.
– Sheila Craft

Not only do I support the research that drives this event, but I truly support those affected by breast cancer for a very specific reason. My aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer about three years ago. She had some other health concerns as well, so the discovery of her cancer was very difficult to accept. Last year, I participated in the race and volunteered in her honor. I remember how happy she was. This year, I will volunteer and participate in the race in memory of my aunt. Unfortunately, she lost her battle, but I know she appreciates my support to this day. I participate to show my support for research, finding a cure, and for those who may not be here to do so.
– Holly Anderson

I participate in the event due to the high levels of emotion I witness amongst others, filled with inspiration, motivation and unity.  This leaves such a lasting impression on me. By being a walking participate, I contribute to this overall effect and hope that at least one other person walks away with the same feeling.
– Erin Harster

Last year was my first year attending and honestly it was just a fun event. It was great to see that many people support a cause and it makes you want to do it every year. My grandfather lost his battle with stomach cancer. Although, he didn’t die from breast cancer, to me, cancer is cancer and it just felt good to support the cause.
– Nya Harden

Thank you Bank of America for your continued support of Komen Columbus and our mission to end breast cancer forever!

