July Volunteer of the Monthy: Barb DePalma

Barb and her husband, Don,  at this year's Komen Columbus Race for the Cure
Barb and her husband, Don, at this year’s Komen Columbus Race for the Cure

It is with much pleasure that we congratulate Barb DePalma as our July Volunteer of the Month!

Barb is one of our many ROCK STARS during the Annual Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. She has been volunteering with Komen Columbus for the last 12 years. Race Director, Becca Thomas, says Barb’s leadership and dedication to Komen’s mission is inspiring.

“Each year that she’s in charge of the survivor bags for the Race, the process is smoother and more efficient and this year was the best one yet! Barb devotes hours to ensuring the bags are packed and ready to go for the Race. She is truly a pleasure to work with,” said Thomas.

Learn more about Barb, in her own words.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

Komen Columbus Race For the Cure didn’t exist when I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1990. Fortunately for me the first Race took place just two years later. After walking the race for a few years our oldest daughter who was more involved in Komen suggested I volunteer. I took her advice and for the past 12 years my family and I have been a part of Komen Columbus focusing on SurvivorPalooza and the Survivor gift bags. With a team of volunteers we fill 2,200 bags and then on Race day have the privilege of passing them out to survivors. Every year I get to meet so many wonderful survivors who continue to inspire me.

What’s you favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

What I enjoy most about volunteering is being a part of the Komen community of support. This is evident throughout Columbus and not just at the race office. Our sponsors, those who give in-kind donations and all of the businesses who go pink to show they care are an integral part of this amazing community.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

I have so many special memories since becoming involved with Komen. Crossing the finish line for the first time and being cheered on by family, friends, and everyone who lines the race course tops the list. Feeling the love and support on Race day reminds me how lucky I am to be a part of this great organization.
Komen Columbus has had such a positive impact on me and my family.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

When I’m not volunteering I enjoy reading, gardening, and spending time with family and friends. My husband and I have
started our “bucket list” of all the places we would like to visit in out free time. You can also find us riding our bicycles around Powell.

I would like to end by saying CONGRATULATIONS to Komen Columbus for being voted 2013 Affiliate of the year. Now everyone knows
what we’ve know for years. Komen Columbus Race for the Cure is the best!

Staff Note: (We just love our volunteers. They’re our biggest cheerleaders! Thank you Barb.)

3 thoughts on “July Volunteer of the Monthy: Barb DePalma

  1. Survivor Palooza wouldn’t be the same without you! Thanks for all you do to make our survivors feel honored.

Comments are closed.