Marathon for the Cure Leader on What Gets Her Through the Miles

The Nationwide Children’s Marathon on Sunday, October 20 is quickly approaching! Looking for a reason to put those new walking or running shoes to use? Join the Marathon for the Cure team and take advantage of training during this beautiful summer weather.

Suzanne looking very happy during the 2010 Columbus Half Marathon
Suzanne looking very happy during the 2010 Columbus Half Marathon

Suzanne Coates Brown has been captain of the Marathon for the Cure team for two years and started running once someone very close to her faced her very own breast cancer diagnosis.

“When my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer 12 years ago, I started focusing on exercise and healthy eating.  But I was never a runner!  Then I watched others and thought, why can’t I run?  I started a program where soon I was running around the block, then over time I was able to run a mile, then two miles.  One night I told my husband if I could do at least 7 miles, my New Year’s resolution would be to run a ½ marathon. After achieving my goal and completing 2 full marathons over the past few years, I realized what a great opportunity it is to not only accomplish an amazing personal goal, but to also raise money to support a great cause while doing it.  It makes that personal achievement that much sweeter.  Almost as sweet as having my mom, now a breast cancer survivor, see me finish the 2010 NYC Marathon!”

Join Suzanne and become a member of the Marathon for the Cure team. By doing so, you’ll have access to a code to register for the Columbus Full or Half Marathon at a discounted rate. There is no minimum amount to fundraise as part of the Team, but every dollar supports the fight against breast cancer.

Interested? Have your shoes laced up already?

Please follow these easy steps to join our team and meet us at the start line!

  1. Register for the Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure team for only $25 here.
  2. Register here for the Columbus Marathon using the discount code: TG13-KOMEN. (The discount code will register you at the rate of $60 for the half marathon or $75 for the full marathon. The code is for Marathon for the Cure team members only.)
  3. Start training and get busy fundraising to really make an impact on your community.

Registration is expected to sell out soon, so don’t delay!

