August Volunteer of the Month: Vanessa Butler

Image
(L-R) Vanessa Butler and her mentor Dr. Tina Pierce at this year’s Komen Columbus Race for the Cure

It’s her passion and an eye for detail that led the Komen Columbus staff to nominate Vanessa Butler as August’s Volunteer of the Month!

Recently Vanessa headed up Komen Young Professional‘s inaugural Style for the Cure Fashion Show in June and it was a wonderful event. Volunteer Manager, Natalie Guagenti, says Vanessa was instrumental in planning the Fashion Show.

“She was well organized and it (the planning) took a lot of initiative,” said Guagenti, who added, “We’re happy to have Vanessa as part of the Komen Columbus family.”

Meet Vanessa and why she enjoys volunteering with Komen.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

As a young girl, my mom and I always participated in the Race for the Cure. At the age of 11, I lost my grandmother to cancer, so she is definitely my motivation to help educate the community about breast cancer.

What’s you favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

My favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus is getting to meet all different types of people around the city who are dedicated to such a worthy cause.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

I have a few memorable moments that I’ve experienced with Komen. The first is volunteering for the Columbus Marathon last October with Nationwide Children’s Hospital. The second is running my first 5k with mentor, Dr. Tina Pierce, in this year’s Race for the Cure. And last but not least, my most memorable moment is this year’s Style for the Cure Fashion Show.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

When I’m not volunteering for Komen, I am usually at work, studying for the LSAT, attending events around the city, and spending quality time with family and close friends.

