September Volunteer of the Month: Janet Dawson

Janet Dawson (third one from the left) with some members of theBailey Cavalieri team during the  2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.
Janet Dawson (third from the left) with some members of the Bailey Cavalieri team during the 2011 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

We are very excited to announce that Janet Dawson is our September Volunteer of the Month!

Janet has coordinated the Volley for the Cure Program at Granville High School for the past several years and in 2011, she helped the team raise more than $9,000, only to increase that to $10,000 raised in 2012.

“Janet’s hard work toward the program is vital to the school’s success and her dedication and support of Volley for the Cure has directly contributed to its success in Central Ohio,” said Becca Thomas, director of events and marketing at Komen Columbus.

Meet Janet.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

I have an 90+ year old aunt who was initially diagnosed with breast cancer nearly 30 years ago.  She had a single mastectomy.  Twenty years later, she was diagnosed with cancer in the other breast and had to have it removed as well.  She was 80 years old!  In addition to her, I have a sister-in-law, three cousins, two co-workers and several friends who have been afflicted with this terrible disease.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus? 

Everyone I have ever dealt with in any capacity at Komen is awesome!  Everyone seems to really enjoy what they do.  I cannot imagine having a job where you have such widespread impact on a daily basis.  That must be a great feeling.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

I have been doing the Columbus Race for the Cure for as long as I can remember.  My husband and daughters and I even did it in Tucson one year when we were there on vacation.  I still get goose bumps at the start of the Race.  When I get to the highest point of the course, I love to look around, seeing a sea of people as far as I can see in front of me and as far as I can see behind me.  It gives me chills just thinking about it.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

I work full-time for the law firm of Bailey Cavalieri.  My husband and I have three daughters who keep us very busy.  We are a very active family.  My husband bikes.  I run, do Pilates and have recently started boxing classes. My oldest daughter just left for college at Kent State University.  The other two are sophomores at Granville High School.  Through their involvement in Granville volleyball, I became involved in Volley for the Cure (VFTC) and am proud to say that our 2012 VFTC resulted in the largest donation to Komen Columbus in VFTC history!  We are already gearing up for our 2013 VFTC (Oct. 1 at Granville High School) and our goal is to beat our own record.

