Why I Race: Jessica Dearth

As told by Guest Blogger:Emma Grace, Editor and Author of Tuttibellablogs.com//@tuttibellaa

Jessica and Angie
Jessica and Angie

I have a personal connection to breast cancer. My very dear friend, Angie Webb was diagnosed last winter. Within two weeks she had undergone a double mastectomy and had all of her lymph nodes removed.

I first met Angie at the swimming pool years ago. We were there with our daughters and began talking like we had known each other for ages. Then a year or so later we “re” met at church and that is where our friendship sparked! Angie is the most beautiful soul I know. She has a special way of making others feel good about themselves and I knew there was something different about her from the start!

Angie has spent this past year taking chemotherapy and radiation while managing a house for her wonderful husband and two small beautiful girls. Just recently, she had a PET scan done and learned the cancer had spread through her blood to her liver. She has tumors all over which makes her cancer incurable and she recently began chemo, again.

This is my first year heading up a Race for the Cure team. I never thought twice about it.  Angie is not alone fighting this horrible disease and I dedicate myself to raise awareness until a cure is found! I plan on doing some bake sales and some craft sales with the help of friends to raise support.JessicaDearth (2)

I have to share, not just because she is a dear friend.. but she is completely AMAZING. She is my inspiration! I am in awe every single day. No matter what comes her way, she takes it like the sun is shining! She finds a way of making something positive out of every situation..the good, the bad and the ugly. She knows that for everything there is a PURPOSE and she is choosing JOY.

The Race for the Cure symbolizes to me…love. Everyone united in love for one single purpose-a cure. ♥

This is why I Race. Please join me and our team, Angie’s Army, on Saturday, May 17, 2014. Register today.

