Why I Race: Ronda Sobotka

Image
Ronda and her friends during the 2013 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

Ronda Sobotka is a two-year breast cancer survivor. Ronda shared with us why she participates in our Annual Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. Here’s what she had to say…

“I am inspired by Komen and the hope for a cancer cure. It’s an amazing experience as a survivor to feel all the support nearby. My favorite part of the event is crossing the finish line. I cry each year when I see all the people cheering. I am also asking people to support Komen Columbus and our team, Ronda Jean. Each year, I make my fundraising goal just a little higher. I reach out to friends and family across the world.

I have so much hope that we will find a cure that it leaks out of me. The feeling of being diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer at the age of 39 was quite devastating. It’s easy to crawl into a dark hole and hide, I refused to do that. I share with any and everyone that early detection saves lives. Breast cancer was like a wrinkle in the sheets of my life.

Breast cancer came, I fought and I won!

Image
Ronda participating in the Ironman in Miami, Florida last October.

The love and support from my friends and family helped me realize my passion for life. Last October, I competed in my first 70.3 mile Ironman in Miami, Florida, as a 2 year survivor! It was an amazing experience. As usual, my crazy attitude was apparent, even down to my customized, “I kicked butt”, triathlon outfit.

The Race for the Cure symbolizes to me a hope and optimism that my daughter’s generation will not fear this disease. That is why I Race – Join me and our team, Ronda Jean, on Saturday, May 17. Register today!

~Ronda Sobotka

