Why I Race: Michelle Brennan

Michelle (left) and her mom at the 2013 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.
Michelle (left) and her mom at the 2013 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

Team Brennan 5’s captain, Michelle Brennan, believes every person can make a difference. For the past four years, Michelle has rallied a team to celebrate the survivorship of her friends and to raise money for Komen Columbus to make a local impact and fund research to discover cures for breast cancer. Here’s her story…

“This is the fourth year my team, Brennan 5, has participated in the Race for the Cure. I first formed the team to show my support and help raise funds so that a cure can be found. Since 2012, two women I know who are my age (early 30s) and have children the ages of my boys (6, 3 and 2 years old) have been diagnosed with breast cancer. These women are fighting the good fight and are so strong. It is for them and so many more that our team participates.

Now I continue to form the team because I want to show my boys that no matter who you are, you can make a difference; every little bit helps. I have gone beyond forming a team and for the last two years I’ve volunteered to help stuff survivor bags. Last year, my son’s school wrote special cards for the survivor bags and will do so again for the race in 2014.

I encourage others to join my team and I fundraise by example. I let them know each year that I’m forming the team again and anyone and everyone is welcome to join us. I emphasize that every little bit raised helps and it all makes a difference.

I’ve opened 2014 registration for Brennan 5 and on average 10-15 members join and work hard to make that difference.

Some members of Team Brennan 5 at the 2013 Race for the Cure.
Some members of Team Brennan 5 at the 2013 Race for the Cure.

It’s important for everyone to realize that they CAN make a difference. From my 7-year-old coloring pictures and writing a special note to a survivor to a long-distance friend making a donation – we are all showing our support for those men and women who demonstrate how to fight the good fight and hopefully win.

My favorite part of the race has to be the official start. It is quite moving to watch the race kick off and the sea of pink gives me goose bumps.

For me, the Race for the Cure symbolizes strength and hope. My friends who have had breast cancer show me just how strong a human being can be. They give me hope every day that you can overcome anything.

This is why I race. Please join me and our team, Brennan 5, on Saturday, May 14, 2014. Register today.”

~Michelle Brennan

