February Volunteer of the Month: Candice Belville

Candice Belville
Candice Belville

We are very proud to announce our February Volunteer of the Month, Candice Belville! We are thrilled and grateful to have the amazing and creative talents of Candice to help us in our mission.

“She answered my Facebook post when I was asking my network of friends if they knew of any graphic artists who could lend their talents for some small creative projects I had in mind,” said Nicolle Racey, Director of Communications at Komen Columbus, “Candice answered the call and I was thrilled because I was able to reconnect with a friend and I was very familiar with the quality of her work – she’s amazing! I know we were in good hands.”

In her own words, Candice shares why she volunteers for Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
My dear friend Stephanie overcame breast cancer a few years ago. While I didn’t know her well during her battle, I spent a lot of time with her once she was in remission and her optimism and positive view on life post-cancer is astounding. The hope and gratitude she shows to the world every second of every day is so admirable. She truly lives in the moment and embodies the mantra of making it count. Getting to know Stephanie inspired me to get involved with other incredibly strong and positive women like her.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
I love being able to donate my design skills to such a worthy cause. I really enjoy using my free time to raise awareness and get the word out on the street!

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus?
Every moment I spend working with Komen Columbus is wonderful and I look forward to making many more memorable moments this year!

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I have an enormous family and such a special group of amigas that I am fortunate to surround myself with. I also have a Jack Russell named Montgomery whom I simply adore.

