March Volunteer of the Month: Janice Joos

Congratulations to our March Volunteer of the month Janice Joos

Image
Janice and her family

For several years now, Janice has served as a Komen Ambassador attending various health fairs as well as sharing her personal story of survivorship as part of the Speaker’s Bureau. She has a Race team every year and fundraises to support our mission. 

“We could not make a difference in our community, sharing our mission, without such valuable volunteers like Janice and are so happy to have her as part of our organization,” said Natalie Guangenti, volunteer manager at Komen Columbus.

Janice shares with us, in her own words, why she volunteers with Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
I got involved with Komen a few years after becoming a survivor. I wanted to give back in some way and as a teacher I thought becoming an education volunteer would be the best.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
I love working health fairs/events. Meeting and talking with people of all ages and backgrounds.

Image
Jancie and her team at the 2013 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
I have enjoyed all my experiences with Komen. The most memorable was at the Race for the Cure in 2006. I became a survivor in 2005 and walked the route while going through my chemo. The next year I recruited a team of friends to join me but I could not walk in the race due to some surgical issues involving my reconstruction. So I stood at the finish line waiting for my friends. While there I watched all the runners come in and about five minutes or so later there was announcement about the first survivor coming and then there were a few survivors after that person but tons of “regular” runners. It bothered me that there were so far fewer survivors running, and I vowed then that I would run next year in the race which is a feat in itself at the time because I had never run a race before. I began my training a few months later, and I have been running ever since. Since that year I have competed in several 5K’s and half marathons.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
When not at Komen I enjoy time with my husband Chris and two boys Jonathan and Jacob. I love to travel, play piano, gardening, and volunteering at church. I also sub for Dublin City Schools. I serve on church council and I am president of my neighborhood home owners association. I am also a voice talent and volunteer reader for VoiceCorp reading services. For fun I like to run, play tennis, walk and lift weights. 

