Why I Race: Ruth Jarvis

Team Pink Sugar Captain Ruth Jarvis, attended the Race for the Cure for the first time in 2013.  After her dear friend Alicia McDonald-Hill passed away last July, she created a team in honor of her memory. Here’s her story

Alicia McDonald-Hill with her sons Andrew and Isaiah.
Alicia McDonald-Hill with her sons Andrew and Isaiah.

My inspiration to form a team for the Komen Columbus Race for Cure is my friend Alicia McDonald-Hill. She was a 5 time survivor of breast cancer until she lost her battle last July. She was an inspiration to all she met.

One of Alicia’s favorite sayings was, ‘No matter how bad you feel, get up, get dressed and put your pink on. There is someone else out there having a worse day than you.’ She was always smiling and had a positive outlook no matter how bad things were going for her.

The first Race I participated in was last year and my favorite parts of the Race were Thunder Tunnel and the Survivor finish line. I was taken aback by the attention and recognition of the teams and survivors throughout the walk. Tears flowed as I walked through Thunder Tunnel and watched as a friend walked through Survivor finish line. It was totally awesome! I was so impressed. Before I was finished, I knew I would return this year and have a team!

At the time of the 2013 Race, we had hoped that Alicia would be able to join us in the 2014 Race, but she lost her battle in July. I visited her mother and asked for her blessing to form a team in Alicia’s memory. The Komen Race for the Cure was an important event to Alicia, as she had not missed one for over 7 years. Alicia was known as ‘Diva Pink Sugar’ in the Chrome Divas Motorcycle Club. So with her family’s blessing, the team Pink Sugar was formed.

The response to the creation of our team has been wonderful! I have many friends and acquaintances joining Team Pink Sugar this year. I look forward to the Race and many more years of bringing my Pink Sugar team to The Race for the Cure.”

Join or donate to Team Pink SugarRegister for the Komen Columbus Race for the Cure today!

~Ruth Jarvis

One thought on “Why I Race: Ruth Jarvis

Comments are closed.