April Volunteers of the Month: Debra Pack & Jason Clayton

We are thrilled to announce our April Volunteers of the Month, Jason Clayton and Debra Pack! Jason and Debra work hard to secure dozens of fantastic entertainment acts that perform along the Race course. We are extremely grateful for all the time they put into creating a fun and festive Race course!

Both Jason and Debra share, in their own words, why they volunteer with Komen Columbus.

Debra Pack
Debra Pack

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

Debra: I have friends who are survivors and friends whose mothers are survivors. I’m inspired by their strength and life views. They are grateful for every day they have and every good thing that life brings

Jason: Actually Lee Oldfield,a former Komen Columbus board member, approached me about getting involved with Komen.  I have a background in music and connection to the music scene and she thought I would be a good resource. Besides that my Aunt is also a survivor.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

Jason Clayton
Jason Clayton

Debra: I enjoy working to support such an important cause with really great people. So passionate and committed – it’s inspiring. The communications committee is fabulous, and I’ve known both Becca Litchfield Thomas and Jason Clayton for years so working with them on the race and entertainment has been the best. And so funny – I knew Becca from our past professional lives and I signed up for information about Komen volunteering at a Yelp Helps event at Vital Companies – Jason’s brainchild. And Jason’s been a valued partner of Columbus Metropolitan Library, where I’m the marketing manager. So you can’t beat working with friends – old and new.

Jason: I really love to see everyone come together and give their time to such a great cause.  It’s good to see such a diverse group of people working together to makes someone else’s life better and it make me feel good.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus?

Debra: I reconnected with a friend from high school at the finish line of one of the races. She was walking through the survivor’s chute and her shirt said two-time survivor. I didn’t know. We’ve stayed connected since then and she is one of the people who inspire me to continue working to eradicate breast cancer.

Jason: I started bringing my daughter to help me out two years ago.  She helps with set up the night before the race and gets up with me at 4:30 in the morning to help organize all of the entertainment with me. It’s a great teaching moment for her and we get to spend quality father daughter time together.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

Debra: I enjoy exploring new places and traveling when I can – especially on beach vacations. And exploring Columbus – so much to see and do. I feel like I haven’t done it all yet and we’ve been here for 15 years. I also like to read – good thing since I work at the library! Watching my daughter perform as a percussionist in the Hilliard Darby High School marching band is fun too. Very proud of her!

Jason:I love spending time with my family. I’m watching my daughter grow up in front of my eyes and can’t believe how old she is getting or should I say how old I’m getting. I also enjoy hanging with my dog Jasper and working hard at Vital Companies helping our customers tell their stories.

