Why I Race: Stephanie Koch

Team Sue Sue Supporters SGk 2011Love and strength are what rallies Stephanie Koch’s family to participate in the Annual Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. They walk to celebrate the life of Sue Ann Koch and to be part of the mission to find cures for breast cancer. Here’s Stephanie’s story…

“Back in March of 2011, I posted A Story of Faith, Hope, Love, Courage and Strength about my mom, Sue Ann Koch who we lost too soon on November 3, 2009. Today I want to share how her story has motivated me to get involved with the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure and I hope it does the same for you. I created Team Sue Sue Supporters in 2009 as a way to show my mom how proud of her I was and to celebrate her life.   She walked that day as a survivor and an inspiration to others. Our team has participated in every Komen Columbus Race for the Cure since 2009 in her memory and in hopes that soon a cure will be found.

Over the years as my family has grown, so has our team.  Each of my three siblings now have children and they all participate. My husband’s family, who never had the pleasure of meeting my mom, has joined the cause and either walk with us or donate. Friends and co-workers have also become supporters. And, this year we even have friends of friends joining our team. Currently, Team Sue Sue Supporters has 11 team members and my goal is to get that number up to 20. This Easter  weekend when my family is all together and the kids are collecting eggs, I will be collecting registration forms and donations.

Stephanie and Brad at the 2013 Race for the Cure.
Stephanie and Brad at the 2013 Race for the Cure.

Race day starts with us gathered on the Northeast corner of High and Broad, wearing our bright green bandanas, and ends with a big party in my backyard. For us, Race for the Cure is not just about pink wigs, motorcycles, and crossing the finish line. It is about memories, celebration of life, and love. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about my mom but I know that if she were still alive, she would be wearing that pink wig, high-fiving every single biker on High Street, and proudly crossing the finish line through the survivor chute.

Please join me, my family, my friends, and their friends on May 17 in downtown Columbus in support of this great cause. You can register for the Race as an individual, create your own team, or join Team Sue Sue Supporters. It only takes a couple minutes to register but it will change lives.”

~Stephanie Koch

