June Volunteer of the Month: Kris Gaston

We are happy to announce that Kris Gaston is our June Volunteer of the Month.

Kris lives like every day is her last day. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer  in 2000 she’s defied the odds for the past 14 years and continues to pleasantly surprise her doctors.

Kris is a warrior and says she volunteers at Komen Columbus because she wants to, “pay it forward.”

Julie McMahon, director of mission at Komen Columbus, says Kris’ fighting spirit is an inspiration to her and others.

“….When recovering from surgery, with time home, Kris chose to dedicate even more time to volunteering over the past few months. She does all this while facing her own metastatic breast cancer battle, and has become an inspiring example to me of how we are going to impact women’s lives,” said McMahon, “Kris lives her life with the attitude that her cancer is a chronic condition, and she fearlessly educates and inspires other through her work with Komen Columbus.”

Kris shares with us, in her own words, why she volunteers with Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

Since I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2000, so many people have been there to support me and my family in so many ways, that I want to do what I can to give back and pay it forward.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

Giving back and being involved in a wonderful organization that I feel is making a difference in advancements in breast cancer treatments, early detection for the underserved and quality of life issues for survivors.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus?

This would have to be the first Race for the Cure I attended after my diagnosis. I was amazed at the number of people that were there. Seeing so many survivors, I felt like I was not alone.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

Gardening, scrapbooking and spending time with my kids

Read more about Kris’ personal story.

