July Volunteer of the Month: Bernice Smith

If you look up the word “multi-tasking,” you may find a photo of Bernice Smith under the definition. A mother of four, a student pursuing a college degree, and a self- proclaimed “serial volunteer”, we’re so happy that Bernice shares her time and talents with Komen Columbus. We are excited to announce Bernice as our July Volunteer of the Month!  Bernice shares with us, in her own words, why she volunteers with Komen Columbus.

Bernice Smith (right) pictured with Kathy Worly during the 2009 Race for the Cure.
Bernice Smith (right) pictured with Kathy Worly during the 2009 Race for the Cure.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus? It must have been about 17 or 18 years ago that I sat through a presentation at church facilitated by a Sis. Riley. She was educating us on breast cancer and the measures we could take to be comfortable with our breasts, the steps we could take to be better aware of the state of our breasts, and she encouraged us to have open conversations with our doctors about our health care.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus? I have had the opportunity and pleasure over the last three years to act as one of the many chair people on the race committee for the annual Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. Can you imagine someone who jumps in with pleasure to make sure the Expo is returned to a state of cleanliness after 30,000 people have visited it? I enjoy volunteering with the students and other volunteers who give of themselves on a Saturday morning. This year I had the great pleasure to aid my own town’s high school marching band members, who froze their fingers off to help one of our race sponsors.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do? When I am not volunteering with Komen you will find me studying for my IDST degree with a concentration in Public Relations, Safety, Security, and Emergency Management. I enjoy farming and volunteering with the Columbus Hands On Central Ohio. In my community of Marysville, I work at Honda of America, and when my schedule allows I work for our local school district. I volunteer with any activity that my four children are involved in, but I also volunteer with the Union County Emergency Management Agency, Union County Medical Reserve Corps, and the Marysville High School Marching Band, the Union County Board of Elections, the Marysville Church of Christ and a few other entities. In the last few years I have had the pleasure to be a crew member for some local and international hot air balloonists. Of course, behind every serial-volunteer you must have someone oil the wheel of reality – the  bills – and that would be my wonderfully supportive husband Carl.

