Family Gives Me Strength – Adriana de la Peña

Adriana_fb

“I was 42 years old when I was diagnosed with breast cancer the first time. I was more concerned about my family and how my diagnosis would affect them. It’s because of my family that I fought against breast cancer and all the obstacles that presented itself. We just moved to the United States from Mexico City, Mexico for my husband’s job when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I didn’t understand English very well and I felt very isolated and scared.  Now I am proud to say I have beat this disease TWICE and I use my medical background and personal experience to help other Latinas in our community learn more about breast cancer and the resources available through the Latina Breast Cancer Project at OhioHealth – a program funded by Susan G. Komen Columbus. My family gives me strength to keep moving forward and keep fighting. Through my work I honor their unconditional love and support to help others.” ~ Adriana

Gives Strength Donate Button_2

