November Volunteer of the Month: Subha Lembach

Introducing our November Volunteer of the Month, Subha Lembach!

Subha’s infectious spirit and positive attitude are the keys to her success as a member of the Komen Columbus Speakers Bureau.

“Subha has unselfishly become an advocate for breast cancer survivors, through her work with several aspects of our affiliate over the past few years,” said Julie McMahon, Director of Mission at Komen Columbus. ” We are fortunate to have such a dedicated volunteer as part of the Komen community.

Subha shares with us, in her own words, why she volunteers with Komen Columbus.

Subha Lembach
Subha with her daughter, Elizabeth, at the Komen Young Professionals Fashion Show.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

I became involved with Komen Columbus because in the time span of one year, I had seven friends all diagnosed with breast cancer. Only one of them was over the age of 40. It was a no brainer for me to be involved and to try to something so that I might one day never ever have to go through a friend telling me they have breast cancer or to hear those words directed at me or my daughter.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

My favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus -they make volunteering fun. The other volunteers are great!

When I first moved to Columbus, I would coordinate Pink It Up the day before the Race and there would be dozens of volunteers running around putting up pink ribbons throughout downtown. It was so much fun and a great way to spend an afternoon with friends making a difference while still being able to push your baby around in a stroller.

Later, I became involved with the Grants Review Committee, which I also really enjoyed. As a member of this Committee, I met some terrific survivors, health care professionals, caregivers, and others. The diversity and richness of perspective was invigorating and inspiring. We had some pretty serious discussions and really thought through how we can make the most impact with respect to prevention, education, and survivor support.

I currently volunteer in the Speaker’s Bureau which is a real treat. I love public speaking and it has been fun getting to meet women interested in learning more about breast cancer.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

My favorite event was the recent KYP Fashion Show. I took my 11 year old daughter and it was great fun as well as an inspiring educational message for her. There were so many great caregivers representing husbands, friends, etc., that it was wonderful for her to see what being a good spouse or friend really means as well as how life is a combination of happiness and sadness, but at the end of the day, its about the people in your life and resiliency and hope.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

I really like to volunteer, hang out with my daughter and husband, and take advantage of all of the great cultural opportunities Columbus has to offer, from the ballet to theater to the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium to the Conservatory to the Museum of Art.

