February Volunteer of the Month: Sue Ringler

We are happy to announce that Sue Ringler is our February Volunteer of the Month!

033
Sue is pictured with her new rescue, Ernie. She hopes to train Ernie to become a therapy dog.

Sue is no stranger to Susan G. Komen Columbus or the Race for the Cure. She’s been attending the Race for the last 10 years and recently decided she wanted to become a Komen Ambassador to educate people in our community on the resources Komen Columbus offers. We are very fortunate to have volunteers like Sue who realize that in order to beat breast cancer we need to attack this disease on all fronts.

“Sue has such a passion for our cause and we are so happy to have her helping to share our mission int eh community,” said Natalie Guagenti, Director of Volunteers at Komen Columbus.

Sue shares with us, in her own words, why she enjoys volunteering with Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

I began volunteering with Komen Columbus before I knew anyone who had been diagnosed with breast cancer.  I participated in my first Race for the Cure in 2008 and when I saw the sea of people walking together for a single common cause, I was overwhelmed.  I began to volunteer for several Race registration shifts the next year and I have never stopped.  I have since joined the education committee and become a Komen Ambassador.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

Educating just 1 person at a health fair about breast cancer and all the options that Komen Columbus is able to offer can be truly rewarding.  However, sitting at the Race registration table with people who have already committed to participating and being able to listen to their experiences, joys and determinations is, by far, the reason that I continue to volunteer with Komen Columbus.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

The Race for the Cure – any year – walking amongst so many people who have come together for just 1 reason: survivors in their pink apparel; those openly paying tribute to someone; those with pictures streaming down their backs; those on their motorcycles; and those who simply care enough to show their support for and participate in this incredible event, never fails to bring tears to my eyes.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

Although I work part-time, I always make sure that I am available to deliver Meals on Wheels every 2 weeks.  In Spring, I can usually be found in my garden.  Since my new dog’s job appears to be walking, I generally log several miles a day —just like the mail-person  ‘ Neither snow nor rain…’.

