March Volunteer of the Month: Lindsey Lange

Lindsey Lange (right) and friend, Kori Alexander, take a moment during the 2010 Race for the Cure for a quick selfie.
Lindsey Lange (right) and friend, Kori Alexander, take a moment during the 2010 Race for the Cure for a quick selfie.

We are so happy to announce that Lindsey Lange is our March Volunteer of the Month!

For the past five years, Lindsey has been very instrumental in rallying her Bank of America associates to  help with our team t-shirt packing.

“This is one of the biggest volunteer projects before the Race,” said Natalie Guagenti, Director of Volunteers at Komen Columbus, “Bank of America provides a team of 50 volunteers every year and they pack nearly 30,000 team Race shirts. Lindsey leads the charge and we are very grateful for it.”

Lindsey shares with us, in her own words, why she enjoys volunteering with Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
Several people – Jamine Kozar (Waggle), Jennifer Locke, Teri Fancelli – I am a daughter, sister, aunt and mom. I have been lucky to not have (breast cancer) in my family, and I would like to keep it that way – I want an end to breast cancer.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
It is fun! The people I get to work with and meet are amazing! Knowing I am doing something I enjoy and it is actually benefitting others makes it even more worthwhile.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
I love the race – seeing the supporters, the survivors, the passion that can be put into something is amazing. I have never had a hobby – so this is cool that I can give focus, energy and passion to something and see the good that comes out.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
Being a mom! I have a love of being mommy. I have three kids, all who are their own personalities. They keep me busy and it’s so rewarding. I love my girl time too with my girlfriends.

