My first Race as a Survivor

We can hardly believe that the Komen Columbus Race for the Cure 2015 is less than two months away!

We are thrilled to highlight, Catriona Hay, as one of the FIRST people to sign up for this year’s race! Catriona shares in her own words about what she is looking forward to about race day:

IMG_3794How did you first get involved with Komen Columbus?

This is my first year with Komen Columbus and the Columbus Race for the Cure. I decided to jump right in and get involved. I am on the Race Committee overseeing Kids for the Cure. I have a 7-year-old son so I felt that Kids for the Cure was a natural fit for me.

I got involved because on May 14, 2014 I was diagnosed with stage 2 triple negative breast cancer. Since being diagnosed, I’ve really felt a pull to get involved in the breast cancer community and I knew that Komen Columbus would be great way to become a part of that community.

What are you looking forward to most about this year’s race?

I’m most excited to complete this year’s race for the first time as a survivor! I was officially declared free of cancer after a bilateral mastectomy on November 17, 2014. Completing this race will mean a lot to me.

I did a small local race in October  and had a team of 32 people, but I am hoping to have an even larger turnout for the Race for the Cure! We call ourselves Catriona’s Cancer Army and we will be wearing our grey and pink shirts. We can’t wait to see everyone on May 16!

Join Catriona at the Race and register today.

