April Volunteer of the Month: Megan Montville

Megan and her mom.
Megan and her mom.

We are so proud to have Megan Montville as April’s Volunteer of the Month. This amazing young woman has turned the devastating loss of her mother to breast cancer into a legacy that her mom would surely be proud of.

She’s a delight to have in the office and greets all the visitors – even the UPS delivery man – with a smile.

“Megan has been an outstanding intern. From answering messages and emails to reaching out to day care centers and athletic stores for Race participation, in her short time here she has nearly done it all,” said Becca Thomas, director of events at Komen Columbus, “Her energy and dedication to the cause and her passion to truly make a difference not only in her future career, but in her time volunteering is inspiring.”

Megan shares with us, in her own words, why she enjoys volunteering with Komen Columbus.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
My mom brought me along to volunteer for Komen Northeast Ohio for the first time in 2003 when she was battling breast cancer for the second time. I continued to volunteer alongside her for the next 10 years at the Northeast Ohio location and grew up having a passion for this organization. When my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer for the fourth time in 2013, I knew I wanted to get even more involved with Komen. After my mom passed away in 2014, I wanted to continue her amazing legacy so I decided to run in memory of her in the Komen Columbus Race for the first time.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
In January 2015, I was given the amazing opportunity to intern for Komen Columbus. I talk to so many people every week who have the same passion as I do, which makes interning a complete joy. If I had to pick my favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus, it would be knowing that I’m making a difference for the largest Race for the Cure in the country!

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
The most memorable event I have with Komen Columbus was at the 2014 Race. It was only a few months after my mom had just lost her battle to breast cancer. There were 35,000 Race participants surrounding me and we were all there for the same purpose. I had so many people I didn’t know come up and hug me and give me the greatest support. I was overwhelmed by the love and passion I saw that day and my eyes were opened to how many lives breast cancer effects.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
When I’m not volunteering for Komen Columbus, I like to run, visit my family, and watch Netflix!

