June Volunteer of the Month: Ronda Sobotka

We’re honored to have Ronda Sobotka as the June Volunteer of the Month!

Pictured left to right: Cathy Ives, Ronda Sobotka, Joyce Sabgir and Celeste XXX.
Pictured left to right: Kathy Ives, Ronda Sobotka, Joyce Sabgir and Celeste Krolak

As soon as you meet Ronda you can sense her boundless energy. She will tell you that she discovered her love of life and adventure through her personal breast cancer battle. Ronda will also tell you that since cancer didn’t kill her, she was going to make the most of her life. No excuses.

In the spirit of that promise to herself, she’s now an endurance athlete. Ronda has completed two half marathons and a sprint, Olympic and and half Ironman distance triathlon.

Wait. there’s more.

Ronda’s recently achieved what some may have on their “bucket list,” an eight-day hike to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

This year, Ronda  co-chaired the registration committee and spent a week on her feet helping to lead dozens of other volunteers and committee members.

“Even before registration week started, Ronda could be found at the Komen Columbus office helping to distribute team packets and shirts,” said Becca Thomas, Director of Events at Komen Columbus. “She always had a smile on her face and was so helpful in ensuring a successful week. She never seemed tired or put out and her fantastically pink outfits got better (and pinker!) each day of the week.”

Here’s why Ronda volunteers for Komen Columbus in her own words.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
I met so many courageous people battling breast cancer during my own fight that I knew I wanted to encourage and inspire others to fight as well. Over the years I’ve met so many strong and wonderful people – each and every one of them inspires me to remain involved with Komen Columbus.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
The interaction I have with so many different individuals who have such diverse background yet all have a common hatred of cancer. Yet we don’t focus on the hated. We focus on the hope for a future where it has been eradicated.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
Having my mother and my daughter participate in Columbus Race For The Cure with me the first time. Their love and support carried me through and propelled me through the finish line. It was very emotional for me.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
I am an endurance athlete who does triathlons, so you’ll find me either in the pool, on the bike, or out on the road running. I also volunteer at The James Cancer Hospital.

