Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Shelly Lewis

Shelly Lewis
Shelly Lewis

What events/people or experiences led you here to Susan G. Komen Columbus?
I managed the Think Pink program at L Brands for many years that included the Race for the Cure Columbus, Race for the Cure Greater New York City, and the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk in Kettering, Ohio.  There was always so much energy and passion with the associates for this program and as we continued to grow into the largest corporate team in the world for Komen with the Columbus race, it was very inspiring.  Attending each race and seeing the thousands of attendees and hundreds of survivors was often emotional and it let me know that this organization was doing much more than talking about their mission…they were living it.  I feel honored to be a part of this great organization.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?
I manage the corporate relationships for Susan G. Komen Columbus.  In my role, I am responsible for building and maintaining corporate sponsorships and relationships throughout the counties that we serve.  Obtaining funding and support at any level helps Komen with its mission to save lives and end breast cancer forever by providing funds that go towards educating and empowering women and allowing Komen to provide services to those in need that have been affected by breast cancer.

What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?
I don’t think that there is any one person who inspires me to come to work every day.  I do, however, feel that I am honored to get to come to work every day and work with an organization that is making such a positive impact on the lives of so many people.  No matter what we do, someone is always watching us.  So, I’m inspired if I am able to have a positive impact on someone’s life just by my example in the work that I do and the way that I live.

Shelly (far right) with family and friends at the 2015 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.
Shelly (far right) with family and friends at the 2015 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
This past race on May 16, 2015 was the most memorable for me because it was the first time that I did the entire 5k.  In past years, I was at the race in a work capacity and didn’t get a chance to do more than the 1 mile.  Doing the 5k was uplifting and at the finish line, I truly felt like I had walked to make a difference in the lives of each and every survivor.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do?
I love spending time with my husband and our family. In addition, I serve in ministry at the food pantry that is led by my husband at our church. Every week, we are able to assist those in need in our community with their basic need for food.  I also enjoy reading, shopping and traveling.

What’s your favorite quote? And why?
I don’t have a favorite quote per se, but I do have a favorite bible verse. Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path”.  This speaks to me because so often we don’t always understand why we go through some things or why we are placed in certain situations…sometimes, it’s not for us to understand.  We just have to believe that God is directing our every step and that He is leading us into our purpose…leading us to greatness.

To meet other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

