Marathon for the Cure Team Runner Runs Miles for Mother

lindsay dollinger 1 lindsay dollinger 2Guest post by Jenna Sopko, Events Intern

“I remember thinking, if my doing this [a half marathon] will help another experimental drug get approved that my mom can use, and we will be able to have to have another family vacation, I’ll do it,” said Lindsay Dollinger, a member of the 2015 Marathon for the Cure team. Lindsay wanted for her mom want many others with a serious illness have wanted – more time.

“My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer almost 17 years ago and passed away January 12th of this year. Her inspiration and courage is what keeps me running all the miles and continuing to advocate to find a cure for breast cancer.  It also keeps me in shape–another preventative measure for breast cancer.”

This is Lindsay’s second year on the team; she experienced her first long-distance race with the Marathon for the Cure team in 2013.  She will be completing her second half marathon at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus Marathon on October 18, 2015.

Lindsay uses the 12-week program on the Hal Higdon app to train for her upcoming race. “So far, I’ve just been doing short runs. I’m saving the heavy training for when my 12 week program starts in July.” Lindsay also coaches a Girls on the Run team that keeps her running throughout the spring.

Lindsay is hoping that with her dedication to running the half marathon for her mother, she will be able to raise funds for more experimental drugs to help women battling breast cancer. In her last half marathon, she raised approximately $300.

“My goal is to beat that amount this time.  I’ve shared the link with my friends and family and am hoping to raise as much as possible!”

Want to join Lindsay in her fight to end breast cancer? Join our Marathon for the Cure team here. Every step toward the finish line, is a step toward ending breast cancer forever.

