Meet the staff at Komen Columbus: Elizabeth Berrisford

Elizabeth and her son Clayton.
Elizabeth and her son Clayton.

What events /people or experience led you here to Susan G. Komen Columbus?
I volunteered for Komen Columbus for several years.  Every year at the Race, I am overwhelmed with the positive energy and support for the survivors. My family, like so many, has been affected by breast cancer.  My husband lost his cousin to breast cancer and my mother-in-law is a survivor. It is very fulfilling to work for an organization that has a positive impact on so many people.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?
I am the Data Coordinator for the Affiliate.  I process donations and send acknowledgements.  I also maintain the donor database.  My role ensures that the donations are processed and credited to the correct donor.

What or whom inspires you to come to work every day?
I am inspired to come to work every day by the personal stories I hear from the people fighting cancer and survivors. Cancer touches everyone!

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
The 2015 Race for the Cure is my most memorable event so far.  It was my first Race as a staff member!  I am so excited and honored to work with this group of dedicated women.

When you’re not working,w hat do you like to do?
I like to read, spend time with my husband and teenage son and ride my bike.

What’s your favorite quote? And why?
“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving.” By Albert Einstein. This quote speaks to me because it reminds me not to dwell on the past but continue to move forward.

To meet the other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

