August Volunteer of the Month: Annie Jennings

AnnieJenningsWe’re happy to announced that Annie Jennings is our August Volunteer of the Month!

“Annie is an exceptional young woman with tremendous talent,” said  Nicolle Racey, director of communications and marketing at Komen Columbus, “As my intern, I as blown away with her creativity and her writing talent. I have no doubt Annie will achieve great things in the future. She will be greatly missed once she returns back to school.”

Annie shares with us, in her own words, why Komen Columbus’ mission has a special place in her heart.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?
I’ve always been very familiar with Komen Columbus because my mom was the communications volunteer when I was young and my sister and I always enjoyed helping her set up for the Race downtown. I have participated in Race for the Cure with my family and friends for as long as I can remember, and it is such an emotional and hopeful event. My dad’s sister died of breast cancer and his mother battled breast cancer for as long as I can remember, before she lost her battle to a combination of pancreatic cancer and leukemia. His sister was diagnosed with inflammatory breast cancer when she was 32 years old and died at age 34, leaving behind four young children.

Annie and her family at the 2008 Race for the Cure.
Annie and her family at the 2008 Race for the Cure.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?
My favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus is being able to help contribute to this wonderful organization that provides so much hope and services for people who need them. I hope that the volunteer work I have done will spread awareness of this wonderful organization and ultimately lead to increased fundraising- to destroy the disease that killed my grandma, my aunt, and thousands of people. I hope that more and more underserved and uninsured women will become aware of the wonderful grant programs that Komen Columbus provides.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?
The most memorable event is definitely Komen Columbus Race for the Cure. This event has always been a huge part of my life; from helping my mom set up downtown when she was a volunteer, to walking in the Fun Walk with my family and friends every year. My family and I have been attending the Columbus Race for the Cure since I was very young and every year it is so inspiring it to see thousands of people supporting this cause. My grandparents would travel eight hours to Columbus from Virginia every year to attend the race. I remember my grandma going to the survivor tent at the end of the walk and being so happy to see so many people. The amount of people attending every year is inspiring and that feeling increases every year as more and more people are attending.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?
Pretty much all of my free time is training for my rowing team at Marietta College. I run, swim, lift, bike and erg (indoor rowing machine) to stay in shape during the summer when we’re out of season. I also enjoy spending time with my high school friends.

