Athens Race Top Fundraiser is 11-Year-Old Girl Just Wanting to Help

We are excited to introduce you to our August top fundraiser (and current overall top fundraiser), 11-year-old Jordan Phillips. Jordan raised $1,669 in August and she’s not slowing down!

JPhillips +cozies
Jordan Phillips displaying the beautiful cozies she makes and sells to raise money for the Athens Race for the Cure.

Jordan’s mom is Nicole Phillips, our Honorary Race Chair. Jordan says after all her mom has been through, making “Cozies for the Cure” was a way she could feel like she was making a difference in a situation she had no control of.

Here is Jordan’s message to you, in her own words.

“Hi, my name is Jordan! I am a proud member of Team Phillips and also am the creator of Cozies for the Cure. I created the cozies for my mom and to help raise money for Susan G. Komen Columbus.

In May of 2015, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. The idea for making cozies came from my love of sewing and my love for my mom. I’ve been sewing for almost six years and when I heard about the Race for the Cure coming to Athens, I knew I wanted to make something to fundraise. Making the cozies is a great way to raise awareness for the cause, and to show my mom that I love and support her.

My writes about kindness for her job. Some people even call her The Kindness Lady. She writes a fabulous blog you can find at www.nicolejphillips.com.

You don’t have to be a grown up to make a difference, kindness has to come from your heart.”

Take Jordan’s lead and earn some perks and saves lives just by fundraising for the Athens Race for the Cure!

  • Raise at least $150 by September 30th and you will be entered in to win the latest iPod touch.
  • From now until November 20, the overall top fundraiser* will receive a voucher good for 25,000 miles on American Airlines. *As determined by amount of confirmed donations turned in by Nov. 20.

Don’t be left out of the running for these great prizes. Click here to begin fundraising today for the first-ever Athens Race for the Cure.

Komen_RFC_Athens_School_Nursing_colorGreen

