Dear Cancer | Angela An

Angela An with her daughter Emmie and her mom, who is a breast cancer survivor.
Angela An with her daughter Emmie and her mom, who is a breast cancer survivor.

Dear Cancer,

I wonder what motivates you… to invade, destroy, and kill.  It is a question I ask myself every time I hear that someone I know and love has been diagnosed with cancer.  I wish you could answer that for me.

But I know you won’t.

So let me simply ask this:

Angela An and Heather Pick. Heather bravely fought breast cancer for many years. She passed away Nov. 7, 2009.
Angela An and Heather Pick. Heather bravely fought breast cancer for many years. She passed away Nov. 7, 2009.

Cancer:  could you please take a break?  I mean, aren’t you tired of knocking on the doors of millions of souls and barging in when you’re not welcome?  It’s got to be exhausting to mutate into so many forms that not even the best doctors or researchers in the world can figure you out.

Can’t you just take a break so families can enjoy their lives and grow old together?

I won’t begin to tell you the pain you’ve personally caused me.  That might give you too much satisfaction.  But I will end this letter by showing you what motives me… to end your reign.

Maybe… just maybe… you’ll listen.

Sincerely,

Angela An

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Cancer | Angela An

Comments are closed.