January Volunteer of the Month: Angela Schuster

It’s truly a delight to name Angela Schuster as our January Volunteer of the Month! 

Angela started volunteering with Komen Columbus by lending her creative writing talents. She helped with the Dear Cancer campaign and interviewed and wrote the individual stories for all five of our 2016 Honorary Race Chairs.

“Angela is the most kindest person I know,” said Nicolle Racey, director of communications and marketing at Komen Columbus, “A friend highly recommended Angela because of her writing abilities and she has not disappointed.  I enjoy working with Angela and look forward to collaborating with her on future projects.”

Angela shares with us, in her own words, why she volunteers for Komen Columbus.

Komen Shoot 2015-54-EditWhat (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

I have a history of breast cancer on the paternal side of my family, and I have two aunts that are survivors. Therefore, eradicating breast cancer has always been a cause that lies near and dear to my heart. When I heard that there was an opportunity to work with Komen Columbus, I was incredibly excited to get involved with an organization that has so much impact in the fight to end this terrible disease.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

My favorite part of volunteering with Komen Columbus has hands-down been the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people that share my passion for this cause. Working with the survivors has been so inspiring that I can’t even put it into words, and believe me, I rarely lack words! I am so grateful for the experiences and relationships that I have developed as a result of volunteering with Komen.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

The most memorable event I have experienced with Komen Columbus was being invited to participate in the photoshoot with the Honorary Race Chairs for the 2016 Race for the Cure. Being able to watch this particular group of ladies interact with one another while also getting to know them on a personal level was simply amazing. They radiate positivity and joy in a way that you rarely get to experience. Everyone involved from top to bottom was so thrilled to be there and so excited about the upcoming months and events. It was such a humbling and awe-inspiring experience.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

When I am not working and volunteering, I can usually be found with my nose in the latest book that someone has recommended. Some would say that the amount of books that I have stacked throughout my life has become a serious issue, but I love them all! Other than that, I spend a lot of time with my fiancé, friends, and family.

One thought on “January Volunteer of the Month: Angela Schuster

Comments are closed.