March Volunteer of the Month: Monica Vance

Congratulations to Monica Vance, she’s our March Volunteer of the Month!

IMG_5766Monica has only been a volunteer for Komen for a four months but in that time, she’s done so much.

“She has tremendous energy and really jumped in to help with lunch an learns, grant reviewing and attending upcoming health fairs,” said Natalie Guagenti, volunteer manager at Komen Columbus,”We’re lucky to have her as part of the Komen Columbus family.”

Monica shares with us, in her own words, why she likes to volunteer with Komen.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Columbus?

My aunt was recently diagnosed with breast cancer and it really struck a cord with me.  She is included with 4 other women in my family that have been diagnosed with breast cancer.  I am also high risk and I want to know everything I can know about breast cancer.  I knew I had to do something to help other women.

What’s your favorite part about volunteering with Komen Columbus?

My favorite part about volunteering is knowing that I could save a life and empower women.  Knowledge is power.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

I think the most memorable moments I have experienced are all of the Survivors lines at the Race for the Cures I have attended.  It is so inspirational and brings tears to my eyes to know that these women have been through so much and have won.

When you’re not volunteering for Komen Columbus, what do you like to do?

I have a 9 year old, Christopher, so he occupies most of my time.  I also try to sing at church and spend time with family and friends.

